top of page

What Are the ALCA 8 Knowledge Areas?

Updated: Nov 13, 2020

The expertise of Aging Life Care Professionals® can be summarized into eight knowledge areas:

Health and Disability




Local Resources



Crisis Intervention

Aging Life Care Professionals assists clients in maintaining their maximum functional potential. Independence, safety, and security concerns are encouraged. These professionals have extensive knowledge about costs, quality, and availability of resources in their community.

Aging Life Care Professionals are members of the Aging Life Care Association (ALCA). They must meet stringent education, experience, and certification requirements of the organization, and all members are required to adhere to a strick Code of Ethics and Standards of Practice.


Patti Urban, CSA, is the CEO of Aging Care Planning Solutions, an aging life care management company that assists the elderly and their families with advance care planning as well as guidance for patients with life-limiting illnesses. She can be reached at

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page